New Mexico

Workforce Connection

Central Region

Operational Policy NO. OP — 430 Change 1

SUBJECT: Self-Sufficiency
Effective Date: PY18 —12/10/2018

BACKGROUND:

To update the State WIOA Self-Sufficiency Wage Standards for grant recipients on the
use when determining eligibility for participants in need of Individualized Career
Services and/or Training Services under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act
(WIOA).

REFERENCE(S):

«  Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) §134(a)(3)(A)(xii) and
§133(b)(2)(B)
+  WIOA Joint Final Rules, 680.210

POLICY:

The State Administrative Entity is responsible for reviewing and updating the self-
sufficiency standard for each local area using a living wage model or comparable data
that draws upon geographically specific expenditures that incorporates the income need
of individuals, families and sub-state geographical considerations. This information is
then applied by Workforce Connection of Central New Mexico (WCCNM) when
determining eligibility for employed individuals to determine if they meet Self-Sufficiency
Wage Standards before approving Individualized Career Services and/or Training
Services. The self-sufficiency wage is included in the annual WCCNM grant agreements
and may be revised as needed.

WCCNM will use the following definition of “self-sufficiency” as it applies to a currently
employed worker who is applying for WIOA Individualized Career Services and/or
Training Services through the local workforce development system:

« Anindividual who is employed in a full-time job (employment that provides
compensation for at least 32 hours each week) at a pay rate at or above the



designated self-sufficiency wage shall be considered to have achieved
employment that allows for self-sufficiency. Therefore, the individual shall be
considered to be self-sufficient and a determination shall be made that
Individualized Career Services and/or Training Services are not required.

« If the individual’s current job does not meet the definition of “Employment
Leading to Economic Self-Sufficiency,” Individualized Career Services and/or
Training Services may be offered as determined appropriate.

Requirement for Documenting “Self-Sufficiency”

1. Information about the customer’s current hourly wage must be recorded in the
“Work History” portion of the State’s management information system, including
each of the following elements:

e JobTile

Employer Name

Dates of Employment: From / To (Month, Year)

Wage

Wage Type (Hourly, Annual, Other)

Hours per Week

2. Acceptable verification sources include:
e Copy of a recent paycheck or paystub
o Employer letter or other document describing the customer’s current
wage
o Self-Attestation (method of last resort)

SELF-SUFFICIENCY WAGE STANDARDS - EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2017

Workforce Connection of Central NM $33.26/Hour

EXCEPTION:

If the individual is an eligible Dislocated Worker, “self-sufficiency” shall be defined as
full-time employment at a rate of pay equal to or greater than the pre-layoff wage
rate— even if the pre-layoff wage was greater than the designated self-sufficiency
wage.

APPLICABILLITY:

WIOA Adult/Dislocated Worker and Youth Provider
INQUIRIES:
WIOA Manager 505-724-3629



This Policy has received approval by the Workforce Connection of Central New Mexico
Board and rescinds any policy previously in effect.

WCCNM Board Chair




