Metro Planning

MRCOG is home to the Mid-Region Metropolitan Planning Organization (MRMPO) for the Albuquerque Metropolitan Planning Area (AMPA) (PDF). Our planning activities are centered around transportation issues, and the intersection between transportation and land use, the environment and the economy.

We serve the following public and tribal entities:


Local Governments

  • City of Albuquerque
  • City of Belen
  • City of Rio Communities
  • City of Rio Rancho
  • County of Bernalillo
  • County of Sandoval
  • County of Valencia
  • Town of Bernalillo
  • Town of Peralta
  • Village of Bosque Farms
  • Village of Corrales
  • Village of Los Lunas
  • Village of Los Ranchos de Albuquerque
  • Village of Tijeras

Tribal Governments

  • Navajo Nation To’hajiilee Chapter
  • Pueblo de Cochiti
  • Pueblo of Isleta
  • Pueblo of Laguna
  • Pueblo of San Felipe
  • Pueblo of Sandia
  • Pueblo of Santa Ana
  • Pueblo of Santo Domingo

School Districts

  • Albuquerque Public School District
  • Belen Consolidated School District
  • Bernalillo Public School District
  • Los Lunas Public School District
  • Rio Rancho Public School District

Specialized Agencies

  • Albuquerque Metropolitan Arroyo and Flood Control Authority
  • Eastern Sandoval County Arroyo and Flood Control Authority
  • Middle Rio Grande Conservancy District
  • Southern Sandoval County Arroyo and Flood Control Authority

Transit Operators

  • City of Albuquerque Transit Department
  • Rio Metro Regional Transit District